Skip to content

Warning! Contains Badgers…

April 20, 2010

Well, you’ve probably all been on the edge of your seats awaiting the next exciting instalment of my journey to the London Marathon. Who’d have thought that this training malarkey would take up so much time? I’ve lost my thread, it’s been some weeks, let’s face it! Where were we? Ah! Yes, when last I blogged, I regaled you with tales of my astounding success at the Sport Relief 10k.

Alas! Finchley, a mere 20 miles, was a whole different kettle of fish but I shan’t dwell. I shall gloss over the fact that I was lapped by 154 different runners (although the winner actually lapped me twice) and I think at one point, I was even lapped by a three-legged badger! I shall omit the part where I had to drag my hulking frame up hill and down dale, nearly being crushed in a freak accident involving a Reliant Robin and a combine harvester. I shall forget the bit about me being so slow that the water stations packed up and went home and I had to knock on someone’s door (oh the shame!) to ask for a drink. Though I shall mention the individuals who told me I was the happiest-looking runner they’d ever seen – I did point out to each and every one that this grin was a deranged one and I was completely mental.

Squeezy had taken so long to finish the race, that the marshalls had given up hope!

Last, yes, I came last! Let’s face it, a whelk with a club foot could have entered and still beaten me! You’d think I’d be destroyed, downtrodden and downhearted, not me! I ran 20 miles in four hours AND I managed to avoid injury and walking like John Wayne for the next three days, unlike some of my speedier comrades. I knew I’d be last, everyone thought I was fishing for compliments when I predicted I’d be last but I’m not that kind of person, I knew I’d be last and I was OK with it! Secretly I knew that if the race was being run backwards, I would, of course, be in the lead!

When I first started training for the London Marathon, I was obsessed with the idea of getting a decent time in, obsessed. As time has progressed, I realise that I’m in this for the long-haul, oh yes! I shall be doing this sort of thing for many years to come and I have plenty of time to get better and faster. Why be hard on myself, this is difficult enough as it is without having to worry about competing with other people. I’m not a competitive person, not in the slightest; I hate team sports and prefer individual pursuits. This is what I’ve realised about running, I’m the only competition I need. I don’t expect to finish last in the London Marathon but even if I did, who cares, it’s having a go that matters, right?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:46 pm

    Brilliant! I have always said that if I’m not last I’m applauding the last person. I think the person who crosses last has the most heart. Why? Because even when the water stops are gone, no spectators left and the award ceremony has begun, they still have the heart to cross the finish line and not quit. They are the ones who deserve recognition! Congrats!

    • April 20, 2010 8:53 pm

      Rhonda, you really have a wonderful way of putting things! If I’d felt bad about coming last before, I certainly don’t feel bad now! Bless you.

  2. Rachael permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:27 pm

    You won’t be last anyway, I will! Hahaha!

  3. April 21, 2010 7:17 pm

    It makes no difference if you are 1st, 2nd, 933rd, or dead last. By finishing you’ve accomplished much more than most people ever will! John Bingham said it best:

    “The miracle isn’t that I finished. The miracle is that I had the courage to start.”

    • April 21, 2010 7:21 pm

      Fred! You are so wise! I think that you are right. It doesn’t matter where you come just as long as you have to heart to see it through 🙂

Leave a Reply

